The Denver & Rio Grande (D&RG) Railroad Depot was constructed in 1875 with rhyolite quarried from Castle Rock. Other famous Littleton landmarks, such as the Sanford House and the Richard Little residence, use the same rhyolite material. The Denver & Rio Grande Railroad arrived in 1871 and was the first railroad to provide rail service to Littleton. The D&RG Railroad Depot is one of the last remaining 19th-century stone depots in the nation.
In 1984, the 500,000-pound depot structure was moved to Crestline Avenue and Rio Grande Street, a half-mile from its original location due to the Littleton Railroad Depression Project. Many original architectural features were restored, paint was removed from the rhyolite walls, and door locks that use skeleton keys were installed. The building retains its original double hung windows. In 1998, the City of Littleton moved the depot again, and it’s now close to its original location. The depot now serves the Regional Transportation District’s (RTD) southwest corridor light rail service to Littleton. As an original railroad depot well over a century old, the Littleton Station is the gem of all the stations in RTD’s light rail system throughout the Denver Metro area.
The D&RG Railroad Depot was designated an official Landmark by the City of Littleton in 1973. The building was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1979.
Learn more about the Rio Grande Depot here: Denver & Rio Grande Railroad Depot, littletongov.org