This one-and-a-half story house is a significant example of the Craftsman architectural style in Littleton. The low, hipped roof, shingled dormer, and varying use of materials, including brick, stone, and wood shingles demonstrate the style. The house was built by the D.S. Reid Construction Co., which built many fine homes in Littleton in the early 1900s.
The Bertoletts lived here in the early 1930s when Louis Bertolett was the manager of the Columbine Mercantile Co. Their daughter, Myrtle, and her husband, Wilkie Candler, later owned the house. A unique fact about this house is that two different chiropractors who each became mayor of Littleton lived in this house. The first was Dr. Clifford C. Harrod, a chiropractor who lived here in the late 1930s. Dr. Harrod was the mayor of Littleton from 1932 to 1934. Then Dr. Roy E. Babcock came to Littleton and became active in civic affairs; he served as mayor from 1946 to 1948. Babcock had his chiropractic practice in this building in the mid-late 1950s.
In the 1970s, South Suburban Parks and Recreation district bought and used the building as its headquarters. In 1979, the house was purchased and converted into the Littleton Family Law Center.
The City of Littleton designated the Bertolett House a Historic Landmark in 2002.